Police Books

Indianapolis Police Department (Indiana)

Home | By Police Department | By Police Officer | By Police Subjects | Law Enforcement Books by State | Other Law Enforcement Writers | Poetry, Prayers & Articles | FAQs | Contact Us | Site Map

Kevin B. Kinnee

Mel McNairy

Robert L. Snow

About the Indianapolis Metropolitan Police Department

In September 1854, thirty-three years after the City of Indianapolis was founded, Mayor James McCready appointed 14 men to the first police force, under the command of Captain Jefferson Springsteen. Prior to 1854, peace was maintained in Indianapolis by a town marshal, the sheriff and a few deputies, a volunteer night watch, and a small number of constables and justices of the peace.


The Offices of the Marion County Sheriff, Marion County Prosecutor and Justice of the Peace were created under Indiana's Constitution in 1816. The first Sheriff of Marion County was Hervey Bates and he was elected to a two-year term beginning in 1822. The first Marion County Jail was a log cabin built on the northwest corner of the intersection of Market and Delaware in downtown, Indianapolis.  The county had to pay $59 to have the woods at the corner cleared before construction could begin.


The Indianapolis Metropolitan Police Department was established on January 1, 2007, by General Ordinance 110, consolidating the former Indianapolis Police Department with the law enforcement division of the Marion County Sheriff's Department. The ordinance assigns responsibility for the police department to the sheriff who appoints a chief of police, under whose direction the department operates.




Featured books by Indianapolis Police Department police officers.

Murder 101: Homicide and Its Investigation
Robert L. Snow  More Info

20 Years Behind the Badge
Kevin B. Kinnee  More Info

© 2004 - 2018 Hi Tech Criminal Justice