Police Books

La Verne Police Department (California)

Home | By Police Department | By Police Officer | By Police Subjects | Law Enforcement Books by State | Other Law Enforcement Writers | Poetry, Prayers & Articles | FAQs | Contact Us | Site Map

Terrence Deal

About the La Verne Police Department

La Verne is a small city in Los Angeles County, encompassing 9.2 square miles with a population of 33,816. It is approximately 30 miles east of Los Angeles, tucked against the Angeles National Forest to the north and neighbors San Dimas, Pomona and Claremont. The 210 Freeway crosses the city, making easy access.  The La Verne Police Department consists of 49 Sworn Officers, 25 Non-Sworn Personnel, a Reserve force of up to 25 Reserve Officers, and a Retired Senior Volunteer Patrol program consisting of 30 members.


The Patrol Division of the La Verne Police Department is the largest detail in the department. Currently 30 sworn police officers are assigned to patrol the City streets. Officers are assigned to work twelve-hour shifts. Officers work on a three-week cycle of three days a week for two weeks and four days for one week, therefore the officers’ work a total of 120 hours in the three-week cycle. There are four patrol shifts, each comprised of a Lieutenant, a Sergeant and a minimum of four officers.


The Investigation Bureau of the La Verne Police Department consists of detectives and support staff who conduct follow-up investigation on criminal cases. Detectives follow up on leads, interview witnesses, victims, suspects, and prepare cases for presentation to the District Attorney’s Office.


The Detective Bureau of the La Verne Police Department handles a wide variety of investigations ranging from burglaries and credit card fraud to elder abuse, kidnapping, and homicide. The Detectives spend many hours solving crimes and prosecuting offenders. The Detectives also make themselves available around the clock in order to provide expertise and take over major investigations.


The Investigation Bureau is divided up into four categories that focus on different types of crimes. The categories are Crime against Persons, Crime against Property, Sex Crimes and Narcotics. Having Investigators assigned to specific units enables them to gain valuable expertise in their assigned area.


The Investigation Bureau consists of five Investigators, one Police Clerk and one Evidence Technician. A Lieutenant and a Sergeant supervise the Bureau.




Selected book by a La Verne Police Department police officer.

Escape from Cluelessness: A Guide for the Organizationally Challenged
Lee G. Bolman  More Info

© 2004 - 2018 Hi Tech Criminal Justice