Police Books

Stephen J. Hemenway

Home | By Police Department | By Police Officer | By Police Subjects | Law Enforcement Books by State | Other Law Enforcement Writers | Poetry, Prayers & Articles | FAQs | Contact Us | Site Map

Stephen J. Hemenway is a deputy sheriff for the Los Angeles County Sheriff’s Department.  In addition to having an associate degree in Administration of Justice, he is a member of BMI (Broadcast Music Inc.), the International Police Association and the Association for Los Angeles Deputy Sheriffs.  In 1993, Steve began writing “The Slouch in the Couch” series of children’s learning books.  People loved it and huge success followed.  He formed a band and Incorporated, “The Slouch & Friends, Inc.”  Stephen Hemenway is the author of The Slouch in the Couch, Never Jump on a Grump and The Stinkells in Stankwell.

According to the book description of The Slouch in the Couch, “Continuing in the tradition of Dr. Seuss, Stephen J. Hemenway created "The Slouch In The Couch" as a means of encouraging children to read while teaching them strong moral values. Using fun rhymes and brilliant illustrations, Hemenway has built an impressive world around the Slouch in his spare time, including a publication called, "The Slouch Kids Club Newsletter; The Slouch In The Couch website which is updated frequently; and The Slouch In The Couch Children’s Corner Band, which performs at local events such as City functions, picnics and amusement parks.”

One reader of The Slouch in the Couch said, “I found this book to be very amusing as well as educational for children. It has a message to kids that it's important to do your homework and also has a glossary in the back. The illustrations reminded me of the early Disney Classic cartoons. The colors are bright and help bring out the story in this book. My 9 year old stepson just loved it. I highly recommend this book.”

According to the book description of Never Jump on a Grump, “This book is Book #2 in the continuing series of The Slouch In The Couch learning books. In the World of the Magical Couch, Elroy Slouchinski becomes bored and decides to take a walk into the forbidden hills which lie behind Slouchville. In the hills, he encounters the Grumps and pays no attention to the one rule they have -  Never ever, never ever, never ever do you jump, never never never never do you jump on a Grump. This series of books have been written as the "next step" after Dr. Seuss. As your Childs reading progresses, they begin to read "The Slouch In The Couch" stories, which retain the rhyme of Dr. Seuss, but are a little more advanced in reading difficulty. Each story has a moral within itself. Words from the text are taken and placed in the back of the book, called "words of interest" and are defined in simplistic terms to enhance the Childs vocabulary.”

One reader of Never Jump on a Grump said “I have had the opportunity to read the first book published by this author, "The Slouch In The Couch." That book was excellent. This book is just as good and continues on with similar characters. It looks like this may be a series of books. The illustrations are very good and the message, which is to obey the rules, is a good basic lesson for young children. This book had twice the glossary as the first book, which I thought was a great enhancement. I'm looking forward to this author's next "Slouch" publication.”

One reader of Never Jump on a Grump said, “This colorful book takes you through an adventure into the unknown. The pages keep telling you that never jump on a grump, but you don't know why. I think it's the curiosity that made me really enjoy this story. At the end, the message to children was excellent. Also, the pictures looked great. I loved it.”


Never Jump On A Grump
Stephen J. Hemenway  More Info

The Slouch in the Couch
Stephen J. Hemenway & Joaquin Soto  More Info

About the Los Angeles County Sheriff’s Department

The Los Angeles Sheriff's Department is the largest sheriff's department in the world. In addition to specialized services, such as the Sheriff's Youth Foundation, International Liaison and Employee Support Services, the Department is divided into ten divisions, each headed by a Division Chief.

 

 There are three patrol divisions (Field Operations Regions I, II and III), Custody Operations Division, Correctional Services Division, Detective Division, Court Services Division, Technical Services Division, Office of Homeland Security, Administrative Services Division, and Leadership and Training Division.

 

The Sheriff's Department of Los Angeles County was formed in April, 1850. Elections for the office of Sheriff were held annually until 1882, when the term was increased to two years; in 1894 the term was increased to four years. The first Sheriff of Los Angeles County was George T. Burrill and his staff consisted of two Deputies.

 

Twenty-four men have served Los Angeles County as Sheriff since 1850: nineteen were elected and six were appointed by the Board of Supervisors to serve the unexpired term of their predecessors. Two were killed in the line of duty. Of those appointed, four were re-elected to the office. The youngest man ever elected to the office of Sheriff was William B. Rowland, who was sworn in when he was 25 years old (in 1871), and was re-elected three times. The record for the longest consecutive service goes to Sheriff Eugene Biscailuz, who completed 51 years in the department, from deputy in 1907, to being appointed Sheriff in 1932 and then retiring in 1958. Our previous Los Angeles County Sheriff, Sherman Block, entered the department as a Deputy Sheriff in 1956 and continued up through the ranks until he was appointed by the Board of Supervisors to succeed Sheriff Pitchess in 1982. In June of 1982, Sheriff Block was elected to a full four year term as Sheriff of Los Angeles County.

 

Source:

lasd.org/

lasdabout.html

lasd.org/

aboutlasd/history.html

© 2004 - 2018 Hi Tech Criminal Justice

 

Criminal Justice Online

Home/Join | List | Next | Previous | Random

Sponsored by Criminal Justice Online

2006 Hi Tech Criminal Justice, Raymond E. Foster

Disclaimer