Police Books

Denver Sheriff Department (Colorado)

Home | By Police Department | By Police Officer | By Police Subjects | Law Enforcement Books by State | Other Law Enforcement Writers | Poetry, Prayers & Articles | FAQs | Contact Us | Site Map

Philip J. Swift

About the Denver Sheriff Department

In 1902, the Denver Sheriff Department was created along with the city and county of Denver.  The city and county of Denver are unique in that they have the same geographic boundaries.  Rather than have two law enforcement agencies essentially policing the same area, the city and county of Denver is set up so that the Denver Police Department provides primary law enforcement and the Sheriff’s Department is primarily responsible for the courts and jails.  Moreover, unlike many American counties, the County of Denver does not have an elected sheriff.


The Denver Sheriff Department is the third largest criminal justice agency in the State of Colorado.  They have 3 division chiefs, 5 majors, 18 captains, 68 sergeants, 603 deputies and 74 civilians.





Books by Denver Sheriff's Department law enforcement officials:

Cradle to Grave 
Philip J. Swift  More Info

© 2004 - 2018 Hi Tech Criminal Justice