A Concise History of American Policing
Raymond Foster  More Info

Leadership: Texas Hold 'Em Style
Andrew J. Harvey  More Info

What is a Hero?: The American Heroes Press Short Story Anthology
Hi Tech Criminal Justice  More Info

Police Books

Los Angeles County Sheriff's Department

Home | By Police Department | By Police Officer | By Police Subjects | Law Enforcement Books by State | Other Law Enforcement Writers | Poetry, Prayers & Articles | FAQs | Contact Us | Site Map

Claude J. Anderson

Stephen Beeler

Allen P. Bristow

William Camp

Sven Crongeyer

Michael Digby

Jim Di Giovanna

Howard H. Earle

Danni Hartmann Eldridge

Winona Franz

Terry E. Gingerich

James D. Harris

Charles "Sid" Heal

Stephen J. Hemenway

John A. Kolman

Wayne R. Lippert

Michael Maxwell

Wesley D. McBride

Tony Miano

Gary Nitchman

Ed Nordsog

Melquiades Mike Ortiz

Stephen M. Passamaneck

Harry D. Penny, Jr.

Frederick Price

Joe Race

Charles A. Sennewald

Jay Sewards

Danny R. Smith

Elsan H. Stafford

Gabriel Suarez

Richard Valdemar

Bryan Vila

Larry Warner

James D. Whaley

Daryl Wingerd

Mike Young

About the Los Angeles County Sheriff’s Department

The Los Angeles Sheriff's Department is the largest sheriff's department in the world. In addition to specialized services, such as the Sheriff's Youth Foundation, International Liaison and Employee Support Services, the Department is divided into ten divisions, each headed by a Division Chief.


 There are three patrol divisions (Field Operations Regions I, II and III), Custody Operations Division, Correctional Services Division, Detective Division, Court Services Division, Technical Services Division, Office of Homeland Security, Administrative Services Division, and Leadership and Training Division.


The Sheriff's Department of Los Angeles County was formed in April, 1850. Elections for the office of Sheriff were held annually until 1882, when the term was increased to two years; in 1894 the term was increased to four years. The first Sheriff of Los Angeles County was George T. Burrill and his staff consisted of two Deputies.


Twenty-four men have served Los Angeles County as Sheriff since 1850: nineteen were elected and six were appointed by the Board of Supervisors to serve the unexpired term of their predecessors. Two were killed in the line of duty. Of those appointed, four were re-elected to the office. The youngest man ever elected to the office of Sheriff was William B. Rowland, who was sworn in when he was 25 years old (in 1871), and was re-elected three times. The record for the longest consecutive service goes to Sheriff Eugene Biscailuz, who completed 51 years in the department, from deputy in 1907, to being appointed Sheriff in 1932 and then retiring in 1958. Our previous Los Angeles County Sheriff, Sherman Block, entered the department as a Deputy Sheriff in 1956 and continued up through the ranks until he was appointed by the Board of Supervisors to succeed Sheriff Pitchess in 1982. In June of 1982, Sheriff Block was elected to a full four year term as Sheriff of Los Angeles County.







Selected books by Los Angeles County Sheriff's Department deputy sheriffs.

Six Gun Sound: The Early History of the Los Angeles County Sheriff's Department
Sven Crongeyer  More Info

Behind the Badge: The Funny Side of the Thin Blue Line
Harry Penny  More Info

Take Up the Shield: Comparing the Uniform of the Police Officer & the Armor of God
Tony Miano  More Info

Guiltless: A True Crime Story
Winona Franz  More Info

The Hands of the Carpenter: A Psychological Perspective of Survival Within Law Enforcement
James D. Harris  More Info

The Firestone Syndrome
Stephen Beeler  More Info

The Trials And Tribulations Of Becoming A Swat Commander
John A. Kolman  More Info

Tactical Helicopter Missions: How to Fly Safe, Effective Airborne Law Enforcement Missions
Kevin P. Means  More Info

Hawaiian Paniolo: A Cowboy in the Islands
Joe Race  More Info

© 2004 - 2021 Hi Tech Criminal Justice